Course Agenda

Agenda

June Course Agenda

Live virtual course | Agenda timing is in BST
Respective time in EST
Start: 2:00pm BST/ 9:00 am EST
Break: 3:00pm BST/ 10:00am EST
Ends: 4:15pm BST/ 11:15am EST

14:0015:00

Enterprise-wide risk assessments

14:00 - 15:00

  • Integrating risk assessment with the firm’s strategy and business plan
  • Strategic risk assessment: approach, stakeholders, outcomes
  • Top and emerging risks
  • Other assessment types: change, risks and opportunities

 

15:0015:15

Coffee Break

14:00 - 14:15

15:1516:15

Risk culture

15:15 - 16:15

  • The role of risk in developing risk culture
  • Risk culture assessment: 5 Aspects model
  • Culture and conduct: related and intertwined
  • Effective monitoring: developing culture and conduct dashboard

14:0015:00

Risk appetite

14:00 - 15:00

  • Focus on more complex to express: operational / non-financial risk 
  • Definitions and approach: three-step process for developing an effective statement
  • What does good look like? attributes and measures of success
  • Group study: evaluation of statements expressed by peer firms

15:0015:15

Coffee Break

14:00 - 14:15

15:1516:15

Risk reporting

15:15 - 16:15

  • Common challenges: lengthy, verbose, not actionable
  • BCBS239: risk aggregation and risk reporting
  • Examining practical solutions: three-step process for successful report writing
  • Group discussion: exchange of good practices  

14:0015:00

Operational resilience

14:00 - 15:00

  • Integrating risk and resilience disciplines
  • Developing business services mentality
  • Practical solutions: scenario analysis - risk and resilience use
  • Jointly leading the efforts: what are the common touch points?

15:0015:15

Coffee Break

14:00 - 14:15

15:1516:15

Softer side: how to build successful risk teams

15:15 - 16:15

  • The theory: role of 2nd line Risk in the 3LOD structure
  • In reality: examining risk personalities - the drifter, the diminisher, the multiplier
  • From administration to management
  • Key skills and capabilities of successful risk teams