Agenda

Course Programme

Advanced Operational Risk Course Agenda 2021

Live virtual course | Agenda timing is in BST
Respective time in HKT
Start: 8:30am BST/ 4:30pm HKT
Break: 9:30am BST/ 5:30pm HKT
Break: 10:45am BST/ 6:45pm HKT

08:3009:30

What Covid-19 changed in risk management

14:00 - 15:57

  • Resilience in the financial services industry
  • How banks and insurers reacted
  • The importance of scenarios
  • Raising awareness

09:3009:45

Break

15:00 - 15:30

09:4510:45

Emerging and interrelated risks

15:15 - 16:15

  • Tools and techniques for risk identification
  • Categories of emerging risks
  • Risk connectivity: network of risks
  • Horizon scanning and risk identification
  • Class exercise: identify the network of your top risks and class feedback

10:4511:00

Break

15:00 - 15:30

11:0012:00

Appetite, KRIs and monitoring

14:00 - 15:00

  • Structure of actionable risk appetite
  • Risk hack: bottom-up risk appetite
  • Appetite KRIs and monitoring
  • Refreshing the framework

08:3009:30

Efficient RCSA workshops

15:15 - 16:15

  • Eight steps to design and run efficient RCSA programmes
  • Tasks pre and post workshop
  • Risk and control assessment: prioritising actions
  • Control validation
  • The pitfalls of control dependencies
  • RCSA workshop: an interactive demo led by guest speakers David Lannoy and Nicholas Renard, Chapelle Consulting

09:3009:45

Break

15:00 - 15:30

09:4510:45

Human error and control design

09:45 - 10:45

  • Slips and mistakes: typology and causes of human errors ( J. Reason)
  • Understand and treat the causes of human error
  • Root cause analysis: tools, methods and bow-tie analysis
  • Benefits of root cause analysis: tracking the common failures and systematic patterns
  • Effective or illusory controls
  • Prevention through design
  • Group work: control testing, control assessment and sharing of experience.

10:4511:00

Break

15:00 - 15:30

11:0012:00

Risk reporting and conduct reporting

11:00 - 12:00

  • Modern issues on events and risk reporting: the regulator’s view
  • Analysing operational risk data: get insight, tell a story
  • Insightful reporting
  • Management information: the ‘reporting cake’
  • Aggregate and escalate risk information: your options
  • Conduct reporting: themes and details
  • Highlights of best practice, group discussion and sharing of experience  

08:3009:30

AI and machine learning to operational risk: zoom on reputation

14:00 - 15:00

  • Seven applications of AI and ML to operational risk
  • Regulatory implications of using machine learning
  • Reputational impact of operational incidents: research results 
  • Is being on the news always a bad thing?
  • Case-study: on-going research and new findings

09:3009:45

Break

15:00 - 15:30

09:4510:30

Resilience and positive risk management

15:15 - 16:15

  • The recent guidance on resilience
  • Key resilience criteria
  • Resilience and reputation
  • Positive risk management: learning from success, thriving for performance

10:3010:45

Wrap-up

16:30 - 17:00

  • What have you learnt?
  • What will you remember?
  • What will you apply?